We drove into Lockport and saw the locks operating, watched boats going up and down in the middle of downtown. Really neat. This is part of the original Erie Canal that was completed in 1825. In Lockport a set of 5 locks, double to allow traffic to go up and down at the same time, were hand dug to overome the 49'drop of the Niagara Escarpment. These locks were operated originally by mules and by hand and were an engineering masterpiece. We took the cruise that included locking through the newer 2 locks on one side, we were able to view the operation of the gates by the canal operator. The old 5 tier locks are still visible on the other side. We saw the tow path, the lift bridges, the upside down RR bridge and what is considered the widest bridge in the US because it makes up the main downtown street in Lockport. We also went through the Erie Canal Discovery Center that gave us a virtual ride in a canal boat and learned about the "canawlers" It was a very busy town at the time the canal was completed in 1825 - of course it's now quieter but still very historic and interesting.